Rivers Network

Sharing Knowledge - Raising Awareness - Bridging River's Advocates

Lake Chad Basin Commission

The Lake Chad Basin Commission (LCBC) was established on 22nd of May 1964 by the four countries that border Lake Chad: Cameroon, Niger, Nigeria and Chad. The Republic of Central Africa joined the organization in 1996, Libya was admitted in 2008. Observer status is held by Sudan admitted, Egypt, the Republic of Congo and the Democratic Republic of Congo. N’Djaména,
Capital of Chad hosts the Headquarters of the Commission.The mandate of the Commission is to sustainably and equitably manage the Lake Chad and other shared water resources of the Lake Chad Basin, to preserve the ecosystems of the Lake Chad Conventional Basin, to promote regional integration, peace and security across the Basin. The LCBC is a basin organization, member of both the African Network of Basin Organizations (ANBO) and the International Network of Basin Organizations (INBO). The Commission if funded by contributions of Member State, but there is reflection for an autonomous financing of the Organization.


You are here:Home#River Blogs#North Africa#Lake Chad Basin#_Lake Chad Basin Global#Lake Chad Basin Commission

Additional Info

  • Location: 13.04,14.15
Read 6788 times
Show Street View

Recent North Africa